Navigation
  • Free shipment from € 35,-
  • Before 13:00 ordered = delivered tomorrow
  • Certified FSC 22000 and Riskplaza
  • Not satisfied? Money back guarantee!

Wheat starch

Wheat starch

  • Not satisfied? Money back guarantee!
  • Ordered before 13:00, delivered tomorrow
  • Quality assured trough certifications
  • Our customers rate us 9.2/10!

Wheat starch as a virtually gluten-free binder


Wheat starch is extracted from the wheat grain. You can use it as a binding agent. Examples of frequently used applications are soups, sauces and stews. You can also use it to make creams or puddings. Especially in Asia it is very popular, because of the fact that it can make a transparent dough. At Natural Spices you can buy wheat starch in a pack of 6 or 25 kilos. Ordering this product online will save you a lot of time and inconvenience. After buying, it will be delivered to your kitchen within a very short period of time.



How is wheat starch made?


Wheat starch is made from the wheat grain. The fleece is removed, after which the grain is ground. The product that remains after this process is called wheat flour. This wheat flour can then be washed with water to separate the gluten. This is how you obtain wheat starch. In theory, however, we cannot call it gluten-free, unlike potato and maize starch. Obtaining potato and maize starch requires a much less complicated process and for this reason it has been used more often in Western cuisine to date. Wheat starch, incidentally, also serves as the basis for the modified variant, which has greater solubility.



Why it is not entirely gluten-free


Wheat starch is a starch extracted from grain. That is why it is sometimes referred to as cereal starch. The gluten have been removed as much as possible by means of 'washing'. For this reason it may not be called 100% gluten free. According to the rules, a product may only be called gluten-free if it contains less than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. This comes down to 20 milligrams of gluten per kilo. However, there is a good chance that people with celiac disease will be able to eat this product without any problems due to its very low gluten content. There is only a small group of people who have such a high sensitivity that even after consuming such a small amount, they will have complaints.

Nutritional values per 100 grams

Energy1511,72 kJ
Energy361 kcal
Fat0,6 gram
of which saturated fatty acids0 gram
Carbohydrates88,5 gram
of which sugars0 gram
Protein0,4 gram
Fibre0 gram
Salt0 gram
  • UsageDepending on application.
  • Ingredientswheat starch (GLUTEN)
  • Country of originLithuania

Prices industry & wholesale

For industrial companies / wholesalers we have a special priced section, minimum order amount EUR 1.000.

  • Buy your raw materials direct from the producer
  • Developed and produced by Natural Spices
  • Always guaranteed to get the best quality and price
  • No shipping costs for all your orders
Contact us